Travel

Yerevan: Places to Eat and Drink in the Armenian Capital

1000

Where to eat, drink or have coffee in Yerevan? Karifood mapped its own route across 12 outlets of the Armenian capital including coffee houses, restaurants, wine bars and confectioneries.

erev3

These places are worth visiting not for just a regular check-in but also for having a glass of Armenian rosé wine or a sip of Artsakh vodka, trying local Lori and Yeghegnadzor cheese, or eating the best Zhengyalov Hats, Zatar and hummus, pahlava or Mutabal (eggplant dip).

yerevan19

What’s the first thing you need to learn about food outlets in Armenia? Tips are already included in the bill; menus are often written in Armenian only; waiters speak either Armenian or English, and no other language is available – this happens quite frequently; and, alas, smoking is allowed everywhere in restaurants, cafés, confectioneries and coffee houses, no other choice there.

*

invino16

Wine. The starting point of any gastronomic trip across Yerevan is Saryan Street — just a couple of years ago it was known only to the admirers of the great Armenian artist Martiros Saryan as his memorial house is located on that street. Now this is one of the noisiest and jazziest streets of the city where wine flows like river, and everywhere you will hear sounds of music coming out from the open windows of local bars and restaurants, people talking in all languages and laughing, and the clinking of dishes.

*

In Vino

invino1

The new gastronomic culture of Yerevan starts its space-and-time countdown from here. In Vino is a colorful splash on the monochromic picture of restaurant life in the Armenian capital, taking its own niche between flashy and often tastlessly decorated restaurants and homemade cafés with modest and simple but nourishing food.

invino4

Wine bars overlooking each other, city restaurants with spectacular outdoor seating space, tapaserias and finger-food outlets — all this diversity started here, at In Vinо.

invino8

A rich collection of European wines (over 800 bottles) is complemented with a whole wine chest of Armenian and Artsakh wines — worthy, striking and full of potential.

invino17

The restaurant provides snack plates — cheese and cold cuts where parmesan is wonderfully combined with the local spicy cheese served in peppers — Lori, and parma and hamon are served with the thin slices of Sujuk and real Basturma (not purple-red but dark, stringy and wrapped in a thick fenugreek cover with pepper and cornel pits).

invino18

This venue is a wine bar, a wine shop, a tasting room, a place for meetings, accidental run-ins, or friendly talks over a bottle or two of some good wine — all wrapped into one. Even if the place is packed to the brim, large common tables still leave you a chance to grab a corner seat and have your glass of wine.

invino3

In Vino, 6, Martiros Saryan Str.

*

Tapastan

tapastan8

Another restaurant of the same family is located near In Vino — Tapastan (“tapas” meaning snacks, and “stan” — country). Vast wine menu is complemented with a cuisine focused on tapas and pinchos types of food but boasting a true Armenian flavor.

tapastan10

For example, the specialty of this restaurant is Dolma in grape leaves, which is a wonderful finger-food dish, and it is served with a whole bunch of snacks: cheese croquette skewers, salad, several sauces and more cheese.

tapastan9

And wine, wine flowing like river or measured in glasses — depends on how much stamina you have!

tapastan1

Surely, the restaurant is packed in the evening, both inside and outside, but the situation is somewhat improved with the help of long common tables and an alternative of high chairs near the counter where you can have a glass of Armenian rosé wine or white Moscato.

1000

Tapastan, 8, Martiros Saryan Str.

*

Come & Calla

come-y-calla8

Come & Calla, which means“Eat and Keep Quiet”, is another wine bar with tapas-pinchos snacks located just across the street from In Vino.

come-y-calla7

Come & Calla is just half a step away from an authentic Spanish tablao (no Flamenco is danced here, and no manton shawls are flapping to the cante jondo rhythm). It is a democratic format of an Andalusian tapaseria offering you a lot of everything and even more wine.

come-y-calla15

Flamenco music is played here, the menu contains several snack plates, cheese and meat, Manchego and hamon, tortillas de patatas (very delicious!) and, naturally, a corner with Armenian wines — red, white and rosé.

come-y-calla5

This place serves not just snacks but also quite nourishing dinners, but if you plan to tour around Saryan Street the whole evening trying each bar on both sides of the street, then these baby tapas are at your service!

come-y-calla9

Come & Calla, 1, Martiros Saryan Str.

*

Wine Republic

WRyerevan3

Wine Republic,along with In Vino, is one of the iconic facilities that changed the gastronomic image of Yerevan.

WRyerevan7

It is a wine bar (Europe, New World, Armenia) with a good cuisine and a short menu of snacks, burgers, salads and mussels, a city café format multiplied by a great selection of wines served by the glass and an ancient culture of wine-making and wine-drinking of the Ararat valley.

WRyerevan14

Getting a free table here in the evening is like winning a lottery.

WRyerevan8

The notion of “atmosphere” is not just an empty word forced upon you by marketing or PR experts; this place is truly fine, merry, relaxing and cozy, people never crush against you or bother you, everybody knows each other; it is a place for large companies of friends or families, or even for sharing a table with strangers who immediately feel like they are friends. It is never too early or too late here to ask for a glass of wine or some local apricot vodka.

WRyerevan13

Here you should pay attention to Armenian rosé wines and cheese platters — besides traditional Pecorino and Camembert with thyme and nuts, this place serves famous Armenian Yeghegnadzor cheese made of a mix of goat and sheep milk and spiced with herbs.

WRyerevan18

Besides, this place serves fabulous lava cake with hot chocolate filling and great pahlava. Lava cakes are a real hit now in Armenia, it is a mandatory component of each dessert menu just about anywhere, so sooner or later you will have to try it — if not in Wine Republic, then in any other place you visit on your trip.

WRyerevan16

Wine Republic, 2, Tumanyan Str. (near Cascade)

*

erev15

Coffee. Yerevan has not been swept by either the third, or the second, or the first coffee waves yet. Coffee menus are standard everywhere – a set of classics plus cezve coffee often made of cheap Robusta or less often of good commercial blends, and almost never roasted by the outlet. Only in the most exceptional cases (which, unfortunately, do not include Yerevan) you can try speciality coffee (Dilijan, my friends, you need to travel to Dilijan for that!). Still, even in a desert of truly bad coffee you can find some nice oases.

*

Mirzoyan Library

mirzoyan5

Yerevan has surprisingly very little pure formats, so that a coffee house would have only a roaster, a coffee machine, a coffee grinder and espresso; and a restaurant would have just food and nothing but food (yet, I could say the situation in Kyiv is not much different).

mirzoyan13

Mirzoyan Library is a multifunctional wine bar, a coffee house, a homemade restaurant, a cultural cluster (having a library and a photo studio, and this restaurant with its patio is more like an open-air museum as it is the only house in the city center which is a hundred years old and perfectly preserved).

mirzoyan1

This is a perfect place for a quiet cup of morning coffee, and a perfect place to have a really loud evening — music is so loud that it makes windows of the nearby hotels shake. The interior eclecticism is not a designer’s idea but life itself (I remember such unmatching chairs and a cupboard in my Armenian grandmother’s house).

mirzoyan7

This place serves both continental breakfast with bacon, omelette and beans, and croissants and granola.

mirzoyan19

My favorite item on the menu is “pastry of the day” when you order your morning coffee and ask what pies they have today — with fruits or nuts.

mirzoyan18

Mirzoyan Library, 10, Mher Mkrtchyan Str., patio

*

The Green Bean

foodyerev1

This is one of the few places in Yerevan where you don’t have to explain to the staff what a roaster, Chemex and flat white are.

foodyerev4

This typical city coffee house had been quite extraordinary for Yerevan for some time. Today nobody is surprised by a wooden-style interior, a roaster in the corner, shelves with craft souvenirs and palette tables. Breakfasts, croissants, tarts, cakes, granola, pasta, pies, freshly roasted coffee, some coffee classics, coffee alternatives, take-away coffee and somehow pretty bad cezve coffee, although this looks like a nice common home-brewing outlet.

foodyerev7

Still, their flat white is practically breathing down the neck of perfect coffee — well-balanced taste of milk and coffee and silky smooth foam. I’ve been a great fan of this place for several years now, I love it with all my coffee heart, and I highly recommend it!

lagonid15

The Green Bean Coffee Shop, 10, Amiryan Str. (near Republic Square)

The Green Bean Cascade, 38, Isahakyan Str. (near Cascade)

*

Coffeestory

coffeestory7

Speaking shortly, this place has neither the alternatives nor the perfect espresso, and no coffee blends either, but they make superb latte art.

coffeestory22

Their famous 3D-cappuccino with a fresh rose made by barista Ando Saakyan is certainly something that makes Coffeestory worth visiting.

coffeestory20

Their coffee classics list is pretty short, but they have a large menu of coffee drinks with cream, halva, chocolate candy, caramel, syrups and other sweet tooth dreams.

coffeestory13

Coffee gourmets will surely look down on these mixes and stuff as you can’t even feel the taste of coffee behind the strong flavor of chocolate and whipped cream. But if you love sweets, this is the place to be and meet Ando.

coffeestory3

They serve homemade cakes with your coffee or tea, they make pankakes, salads and amazing lemonade of fresh citrus fruits, tarragon and mint. And hey, let’s be honest — who wouldn’t wish to give in to some real debauch that takes the shape of a gigantic glass of something looking like coffee topped with thick cream, chocolate crispies, chocolate syrup and some caramel to go with it — and have it just for yourself? So if you want some secret coffee guilty pleasure, Coffeestory in Yerevan is just the right place.

coffeestory27

Coffeestory, 98-9, Nalbandyan Str.

*

gal11

Food. Armenian gastronomy still has a long way to go to become so rapidly common like Georgian khinkali houses and be a profitable food case for restaurateurs at least in former Soviet Union countries. Right now, authentic Armenian cuisine can be found only in local homes, while local restaurants mostly ignore their nationality with some contempt and provide a menu that mixes sushi and steaks, pizza, pasta, khinkali and even Borsch, all of this served under the common sign of “European cuisine”. Or they run to a different extremity setting up a restaurant format that was common in the 90-ies — when you eat on gold, sleep on gold, cover yourself with gold to the live music dating back to the same godforsaken years, eating kebab and watching waiters bow just to be presented with an atrociously enormous check in the end. But even then, there is a small and quite cordial amount of places where the “we’re only doing European cuisine” outrage is minimal and smartly combined with national specialities and unobtrusive service.

*

Tatik Papik

tatik_papik16

When you enter Tatik Papik, request Zhengyalov Hats, the “green bread”, immediately, better four or five at once! To try a “more authentic” Zhengyalov, you will have to travel to Karabakh, maybe Shusha or Stepanakert.

tatik_papik11

Zhengyalov Hats, or “green bread”, is a peculiar Karabakh specialty. These are flat breads with a mix of herbs — no less than 14 different ones — and melted butter.

tatik_papik7

Finely chopped herbs are rolled into the thinnest layer of dough possible and then baked on a flat brazier. Easy as a pie, and just as tasty! As for the main course, the rest of the menu is quite standard, and you may not be lucky enough to run into a good chef on duty. We had quite mediocre Dolma and even more mediocre nettle soup.

tatik_papik8

Although the staff in Tatik Papik reacted pretty fast and were perfectly adequate when we complained about overcooked Dolma and insipid soup, still, speaking honestly and not finding any “the chef had a bad day” excuses, Karifood will only recommend perfect Zhengyalov Hats at this place as a must-try. We leave all the rest to your own discretion.

tatik_papik14

Tatik Papik, 47, Nalbandyan Str.

*

anteb1

When Yerevan was swarmed by waves of Syrian Armenians who were trying to escape war, the gastronomic city culture was greatly enriched with Arabic, Lebanese and Western-Armenian flavors, spices and fragrances. Hard-working Syrian Armenians open food outlets one after another: small cafés, bakeries, small restaurants serving simple, delicious and cheap food. Oh hey, did I say delicious? It’s a mouthgasm!

*

Anteb

anteb19

Cuisine at Anteb is a fine and delicate mix of Middle East and Arabic cuisine. The interior is modest: wooden tables and chairs, and that’s all. There are bread balls, Kebbe cutlets, Mutabal, Fattoush, Taboule, hummus, Lamadjo flatbread also called Armenian pizza, and heady thin bread with Zatar spices dripping green olive oil. If you plan a lunch or a dinner at Anteb, better reserve a table in advance.

anteb5

Yes, the place is quite simple, lacking any pathos, but it has food, more food and food again (oh those crazy Zatar flatbreads!), and this is why it is pretty much always packed. The place also serves amazing Tan – a sour dairy matsoni-based drink and Middle East desserts – naturally, if you still have some place left for something sweet after all these riches.

anteb13

Yes, do try to save some place for those delights dripping honey and lavishly sprinkled with pistachios and walnuts! Anteb has its own confectionery just across the street which is also a must-visit checkpoint when you come to Yerevan.

*

Anteb Sweets

antebsweets1

This is heaven as we have always dreamed it! I want to live there, no lie! Every twenty minutes or so a severe-looking moustached chef puts out trays of pahlava, Qurabiya pastries, Kadaif rolls and a heap of other sweets with tongue-twisting names.

antebsweets11

So you just run from one shop window to another and point your finger to everything, and say, “I want this, this, that, and that too, more-more-more!”

antebsweets3

All sweets come with a take-away option, you can take them with you even on board the plane (they will be packed accordingly), or you can buy a luxurious wooden box that holds exactly one tray of pahlava.

antebsweets9

Or you can sit at a table right there and spend an hour over a cup of coffee, running back to the shop window time after time and asking to put “that thing with pistachios, and that one with walnuts” on the bill. Say goodbye to your thin waist, farewell to your beautiful slim body, see you healthy nutrition, and hello to the true and genuine gastronomic joy. Isn’t that great?

antebsweets8

Anteb Restaurant, 51, Yeznik Koghbatsi Str.

Anteb Sweets, 30, Yeznik Koghbatsi Str.

*

Zatar Pizza

zatar5

This is a small Syrian outlet in a side-street near the Republic Square: an outdoor terrace with branded umbrellas, a neon light and the main hall in a cellar — in general, everything that makes it look pretty much like a low-profile joint.

zatar2

Yet, it is packed to the brim since morning, and the only thing that can save you is the take-away option for the whole menu because a free table is unattainable. This place is cheap even for Armenian salaries — for example, you can have two Zatar flatbreads, a bowl of salad and two cups of coffee for just 4 dollars.

zatar1

The menu is traditional, same Fattoush, Mutabal, Kebbe, hummus and Falafel, some Middle-Eastern soups, a Mediterranean pizza and an impressive list of Zatar flatbreads with various fillings: cheese, vegetables, salami, olives or tomatoes. If you’re not discouraged by plastic plates, this is the place to be!

zatar6

Zatar Pizza, 24, Anrapetunian Str.

*

Lagonid

lagonid2

This is no joint or a simple café; it is actually a decent average with beautiful crockery, fine table laying and lavish Middle-Eastern food.

lagonid6

Turkish coffee is served with small candy, and the menu, complete with the traditional Zatar flatbreads, also has Arabic Saj flatbreads with cheese and tomatoes. The chef will add some hot pepper to your filling if you ask for it.

lagonid8

Just the taste to wake you up! The place serves delicious Mutabal, but their hummus is a bit tasteless, and their Taboule is quite close to the Lebanese version (very sour), while their Falafel is incredible, with lots and lots of greens!

lagonid14

Lagonid, 37, Nalbandyan Str.

*

adastra27

Naturally, Yerevan is not all about those 12 food outlets: you can wear your evening dress to Tsirani in Northern Avenue, or to Ad Astra at Radisson Blu Yerevan, or try sour-milk soup with Kofte and kebab at Yerevan Restaurant; or have some coffee at one of several dozens of Jezve network cafes. And please don’t miss out on the local Grand Candy confectionery — I could easily go on foot from Kyiv to Yerevan for their chocolate cake, but remember: true Armenian cuisine is still home-cooked.

gal13

Tanapur (Spas) soup, Hash, Khorovatz barbecue, Lavash with cheese and herbs — these things require fresh mountain air, a small patio, a large family at a home table, and the last thing they need are starch napkins or waiters, so if you plan a trip to Armenia, ask some of your Armenian friends if you can drop in for home-cooked dinner — and don’t be shy, they’ll be delighted to have you!

gal23

Text: Olga Kari

Photos: Anton Lazutin, Olga Kari

Karifood would like to thank Air Arabia Airlines, Ready&Go! and LAZA Design Studio for support and traveling arrangements.

promo1

Login with:

Travel

Ереван: где есть и где пить в армянской столице?

1000

Где есть, где пить и где кофейничать в Ереване? Karifood проложил свой маршрут по 12-ти заведениям армянской столицы, включив в него и кофейни, и рестораны, и винные бары, и кондитерские.

erev3

В эти места стоит заглянуть не только за дежурным чек-ином, а и выпить бокал армянского розе, рюмку арцахской водки, попробовать местные сыры лори и ехигнадзор, съесть лучший в Ереване женгялов хац, затар и хумус, пахлаву и мутабаль.

yerevan19

Что в первую очередь нужно знать о заведениях с едой в Армении? Чаевые включены в счет — очень часто, меню только на армянском языке и персонал говорит либо на армянском, либо на английском и никаком другом языке — довольно часто, в ресторанах, кафе, кондитерских, кофейнях курят и на летниках, и в самих заведениях — увы, всегда и везде.

*

invino16

Вино. Отправная точка ереванского гастропутешествия — улица Сарьяна, которую ещё пару лет назад знали лишь ценители живописи великого армянского художника Мартироса Сарьяна, поскольку здесь находится его дом-музей. Сейчас это одна из самых шумных, пёстрых улиц города, где вино действительно льётся рекой, из распахнутых окон винных баров и ресторанчиков доносятся музыка, интернациональное многоголосие, смех и звон тарелок.

*

In Vino

invino1

Отсюда начинает свой пространственно-временной отсчёт новая гастрокультура Еревана. In Vino разбавил пёстрыми красками монохромную картину ресторанной жизни армянской столицы, заняв нишу между пафосными ресторанами «дорого-богато» и домашними кафе с неприхотливой, но сытной едой.

invino4

Винные бары дверь в дверь, городские ресторанчики с яркими летниками, тапасерии и фингер-фудные — всё это многообразие началось именно с In Vinо.

invino8

Богатую коллекцию (больше 800 бутылок) европейских вин дополняет целый шкаф вин армянских и арцахских — достойных, ярких и потенциальных.

invino17

Из закусок сырные и мясные нарезки, где пармезан гармонично сочетается с местным пряным сыром в перце — лори, а парма и хамон — с прозрачными ломтиками сухджука и настоящей бастурмы (не пунцово-красной, а тёмной, жилистой, в плотной оболочке чамана из перца и кизиловых косточек).

invino18

Это и винный бар, и винный магазин, и зал для дегустаций, и место для свиданий, для случайных встреч, дружеских посиделок за бутылкой-другой хорошего вина. Общие столы оставляют шанс разместиться на краешке с бокалом даже при биток-какой-посадке.

invino3

In Vino, ул. Мартироса Сарьяна, 6

*

Tapastan

tapastan8

По соседству с In Vino ещё одно заведение этого же семейства — Tapastan (tapas — закуска, stan — страна). Здесь обширную винную карту дополняет кухня, которая делает ставку на еду в формате тапас и пинчос, но с армянским колоритом.

tapastan10

К примеру, фирменное блюдо ресторанчика — долма в виноградных листьях, которая сама по себе отличный фингер-фуд, а кроме того, подаётся с целым плато закусок: сырными крокетами на шпажках, салатом, несколькими соусами и сыром.

tapastan9

И вино, вино, вино рекой или же побокально — зависит от того, как рассчитываете свои силы!

tapastan1

Разумеется, к вечеру полная посадка что внутри, что на террасе, но опять таки, на выручку приходят и длинные общие столы, и возможность присесть на высокий стул у прилавка с бокалом армянского розе или белого муската.

1000

Tapastan, ул. Мартироса Сарьяна, 8

*

Come & Calla

come-y-calla8

Come & Calla, «Ешь и молчи» ещё один винный бар с закусками в формате тапас-пинчос — ровно напротив In Vino.

come-y-calla7

Come & Calla немножко не дотянул до аутентичного испанского таблао (здесь не танцуют фламенко и не размахивают мантонами в такт с канте-хондо ). Это демократичный формат андалусской тапасерии, где всего много, а больше всего вина.

come-y-calla15

Здесь звучит музыка фламенко, в меню несколько плато закусок, сыра и мяса, манчего и хамон, тортилья де пататас (очень хороша) и, конечно же, уголок с армянскими винами — красными, белыми и розе.

come-y-calla5

Кухня выдаёт не только закуски, а и вполне плотные обеды, но если вы намерены весь вечер кочевать по улице Сарьяна из одного бара в другой — сперва по чётной, а затем по нечётной стороне — то крошки-тапасы вам в помощь!

come-y-calla9

Come & Calla, ул. Мартироса Сарьяна, 1

*

Wine Republic

WRyerevan3

Wine Republic наравне с In Vino — одно из культовых заведений, изменивших гастрономический облик Еревана.

WRyerevan7

Винный бар (Европа, Новый Свет, Армения) с кухней и небольшим меню закусок, бургеров, салатов и мидий, формат сити-кафе, помноженный на огромный выбор побокального вина и давнюю культуру виноделия и винопития Араратской долины.

WRyerevan14

Упасть здесь вечером за свободный столик всё равно, что вытащить счастливый лотерейный билет.

WRyerevan8

Понятие «атмосфера» здесь не притянуто за ушами маркетологами или пиарщиками, здесь действительно хорошо, весело, расслабляюще, уютно, люди не давят и не мешают, здесь все свои, за столы садятся большими компаниями, с друзьями и семьями, а иногда даже и незнакомыми людьми. Попросить бокал вина или местной абрикосовой водки здесь уместно в любое время суток.

WRyerevan13

Обратите внимание на армянские розовые вина и сырную тарелку — помимо традиционных пекорино и камамбера с тимьяном и орехами здесь подают знаменитый армянский сыр ехигнадзор — из смеси козьего и овечьего молока с травами.

WRyerevan18

Кроме того, здесь готовят отличный лава-кейк (фондан) с горячей шоколадной сердцевиной и пахлаву. Лава-кейк в Армении сейчас пребывает в зените славы, это обязательный атрибут десертной карты в любом заведении, так что он вас рано или поздно настигнет, если не в Wine Republic, то где-нибудь ещё.

WRyerevan16

Wine Republic, ул. Таманяна, 2 (возле Каскада)

*

erev15

Кофе. Ереван пока ещё не настигли ни третья, ни вторая, ни первая кофейные волны. Повсеместно в меню стандартный набор классики плюс кофе в джезве, часто на дешёвой робусте, реже — на хороших коммерческих сортах, почти никогда — на собственной обжарке, и только в самых исключительных случаях и, увы, не в Ереване встречается speciality-кофе (в Дилижане, друзья, в Дилижане!). И всё же в пустыне откровенно невкусного кофе встречаются и оазисы.

*

Mirzoyan Library

mirzoyan5

Удивительно, как мало в Ереване стерильно-чистых форматов, чтобы если кофейня — то только ростер, машина, кофемолка, эспрессо, если ресторан — еда и ничего, кроме еды (ну, скажем, такими ресторанами и Киев не особо богат).

mirzoyan13

Mirzoyan Library — это такой мультифункциональный винный бар, кофейня, домашний ресторан, культурный кластер (тут и библиотека, и фото-ателье, да и сам ресторанчик с внутренним двориком — музей под открытым небом, единственный уцелевший столетний дом в центре Еревана).

mirzoyan1

Утром здесь так хорошо и тихо пьётся кофе, вечером — от музыки и веселья дребезжат окна близлежащих отелей. Эклектика интерьера — не задумка дизайнера, а сама жизнь (такие вот разнобойные стулья и буфет, я помню, стояли на веранде дома моей армянской бабушки).

mirzoyan7

Здесь подают и континентальные завтраки с беконом, яичницей, бобами, и круассаны, и гранолу.

mirzoyan19

Мой любимый пункт в меню — «выпечка дня», когда утром, заказывая кофе, уточняешь, каких пирогов напекли сегодня — фруктовых или ореховых.

mirzoyan18

Mirzoyan Library, ул. Мхера Мкртчана, 10, внутренний дворик

*

The Green Bean

foodyerev1

Одно из немногих мест в Ереване, где вам не придется на пальцах объяснять персоналу, что такое ростер, кемекс и флэт-вайт.

foodyerev4

Типичная городская кофейня в своё время была для Еревана совсем нетипичным заведением — это сейчас никого не удивишь wooden-style интерьером, ростером в углу, полками с крафтовыми сувенирами и столами, сколоченными из палеттов. Завтраки, круассаны, тарты, кексы, гранола, паста, пироги, кофе свежей обжарки, кофейная классика, кофейная альтернатива, take-away и почему-то совсем невкусный кофе в джезве, хотя, казалось бы — это же такой милый повсеместный home-brewing.

foodyerev7

Зато флэт-вайт здесь почти дышит в спину идеальному — сбалансированный вкус молока и кофе, ровная шелковистая пена. Люблю это место уже несколько лет со всей кофейной нежностью, и вам советую!

lagonid15

The Green Bean Coffee Shop, ул. Амиряна, 10 (возле Пл. Республики)

The Green Bean Cascade, ул. Исакяна, 38 (возле Каскада)

*

Coffeestory

coffeestory7

Строго говоря, здесь нет ни альтернативы, ни идеального эспрессо, ни кофейных купажей, зато здесь делают отличный латте-арт.

coffeestory22

Знаменитый 3D-капуччино с живой розой от бариста Андо Саакяна уже сам по себе заслуживает визита в Coffeestory.

coffeestory20

Здесь небольшая страница кофейной классики и большое меню кофейных напитков со сливками, халвой, шоколадными батончиками, карамелью, сиропами и прочими «слипнись всё».

coffeestory13

Кофейные гурманы гарантировано будут крутить носом от этих миксов, потому что, конечно же, за ударным вкусом перебитого в блендере шоколадного батончика со взбитыми сливками, кофейный вкус уходит в ноль. А вот всем сладкоежкам — срочно в гости к Андо.

coffeestory3

К кофе и чаю здесь подают домашние кексы, здесь пекут блины, готовят салаты, а ещё готовят безумно вкусный лимонад из свежих цитрусов, тархуна и мяты. Ну, и будьте с собой честны, кому из нас не хотелось предаться абсолютному разврату в виде огромного стакана «типа-кофе» с шапкой из сливок, шоколадных криспи-шариков, шоколадного сиропа, тягучей карамели — и всё это в одно лицо?! В общем, за тайным кофейным guilty pleasure — пожалуйте в ереванский Coffeestory.

coffeestory27

Coffeestory, ул. Налбандяна, 98-9

*

gal11

Еда. Армянской гастрономии ещё предстоит проделать долгий путь, чтобы стремительно размножиться по примеру грузинских хинкальных и стать прибыльным гастро-кейсом для рестораторов хотя бы на территории бывших союзных республик. Пока что аутентичная армянская кухня — это домашнее кулираное творчество, местные же рестораны в большинстве своём либо презрительно открещиваются от локальности и выдают меню, в которых суши перемежаются стейками, пиццой, пастой, хинкали и борщом под общей вывеской «европейская кухня». Либо впадают в другую крайность, цементируя формат ресторанов из 90-тых годов, чтобы на золоте есть, на золоте спать, золотом укрываться, чтоб непременно живая музыка с хитами из тех же дремучих эстрадных годов, «шашлык-машлык», поклоны официантов и многозначный счёт в конце вечера. Но есть и небольшая душевная прослойка мест, где эпатаж «мы готовим только европейскую кухню» сведён к минимуму и грамотно сочетается с национальными специалитетами и ненавязчивым сервисом.

*

Tatik Papik

tatik_papik16

Зашли в Tatik Papik — с порога требуйте женгялов хац, «зелёный хлеб» — и штук пять сразу! За «более настоящим» женгялов вам придётся ехать в Карабах, куда-нибудь в Шуши или Степанакерт.

tatik_papik11

Женгялов хац, «зелёный хлеб» — особый карабахский специалитет. Это лепёшки с начинкой из смеси горных трав — не меньше 14 видов, с топлёным маслом.

tatik_papik7

Мелко нарезанные травы заворачивают в лепёшку из тончайшего теста и выпекают на плоской жаровне. Проще простого, вкуснее вкусного! Что до основных блюд, то прочий обеденный набор довольно стандартный и не факт, что вам повезёт с поваром, а значит, и с едой — нам достались на обед очень посредственная долма и ещё более посредственный крапивный суп.

tatik_papik8

И хотя в Tatik Papik быстро и адекватно отреагировали на жалобу по поводу переваренной долмы и невкусного супа, всё же, положа руку на сердце и безо всяких скидок на то, что «не сошлись звёзды», «повар ушёл в астрал», «просто был неудачный день», в этом заведении Karifood рекомендует к обязательной дегустации отменный женгялов хац. Всё остальное — на ваше усмотрение.

tatik_papik14

Tatik Papik, ул. Налбандяна, 47

*

anteb1

С появлением в Ереване огромного количества сирийских армян, бежавших от войны, гастрономическая культура города существенно обогатилась арабскими, ливанскими и западно-армянскими вкусами, пряностями и ароматами. Трудолюбивые сирийские армяне открывают фуд-точки одну за другой: маленькие кафе, пекарни, небольшие ресторанчики, где кормят просто и вкусно, а берут недорого. Да что там, кормят не просто вкусно, а очень-очень вкусно!

*

Anteb

anteb19

Кухня в Anteb — очень тонкое смешение ближневосточной кухни и арабской. Интерьер — прост и лаконичен, деревянные столы, стулья, всё. В меню — шарообразные лепёшки, котлетки кеббе, мутабаль, фатуш, табуле, хумус, лепёшки ламаджо, которые ещё называют армянской пиццей, и пьянящий тонкий хлеб со специями затар, с которого капает зеленоватое оливковое масло. Планируя обед или ужин в Anteb, бронируйте столик заранее.

anteb5

Да, это простое место, без выкрутасов и пафоса, здесь еда, еда, и снова еда (и эти сумасшедшие лепёшки затар!), а потому почти всегда полная посадка. А ещё здесь очень вкусный тан — кисломолочный напиток на основе мацуна, и ближневосточные десерты — если, конечно, после всего этого ближневосточного изобилия у вас останутся силы на сладости.

anteb13

Да, да, постарайтесь всё-таки приберечь немного места для сочащихся мёдом, обильно обсыпанных фисташками и грецкими орехами delights! Потому что через дорогу от Anteb находится их же кондитерская — обязательный пункт посещения во время визита в Ереван.

*

Anteb Sweets

antebsweets1

Рай, рай, рай! Я хочу там жить. Потому что усатый и строгий шеф-повар каждые четверть часа выкладывает на витрину жестяные поддоны с пахлавой, курабье, катаиф и гору прочих сладостей с труднопроизносимыми названиями.

antebsweets11

Ты просто скачешь от витрины к витрине и пальчиком показываешь: «Мне вот этого, вот этого, и этого побольше, побольше, побольше!»

antebsweets3

Все сладости можно взять в коробочке take-away, даже в самолёт (для этого их специально упакуют), можно купить роскошную деревянную коробку, куда как раз поместится целый поддон пахлавы.

antebsweets9

Можно присесть за столик прямо в кондитерской и провести час над чашкой кофе, продолжая бегать к витрине и просить включить в счёт «ещё вот эту штучку с фисташками, и вот ту с лесными орешками». Прощай, прощай, фигура, прощай, талия, прощай, здоровое питание но, здравствуйте, настоящие, неподдельные гастрономические радости, разве это не здорово?!

antebsweets8

Anteb Restaurant, ул. Езника Когбаци, 51

Anteb Sweets, ул. Езника Когбаци, 30

*

Zatar Pizza

zatar5

Маленькое сирийское заведение на боковой улочке возле площади Республики: летник с брендироваными зонтиками, неоновая вывеска, полуподвальное помещение — в общем, на первый взгляд, забегаловка забегаловкой.

zatar2

Но — биток людей прямо с утра, к вечеру спасает только то, что всё меню готовят с собой «на вынос» — свободный столик на вес золота. Здесь очень дёшево даже по армянским меркам — к примеру, на 4 доллара можно съесть две лепёшки с затаром, миску салата и выпить две чашки кофе.

zatar1

Набор блюд в меню — традиционный, всё те же фатуш-мутабаль-кеббе-хумус и фалафель, немного ближневосточных супов, средиземноморская пицца и внушительное меню затаров с разной начинкой: с сыром, овощами, салями, оливками, томатами. Если вас не смущают пластмассовые тарелочки под еду — вам сюда!

zatar6

Zatar Pizza, ул. Ханрапетутяна, 24

*

Lagonid

lagonid2

Это уже не забегаловка и не кафешка, а добротный середнячок, с красивой посудой, аккуратной сервировкой и щедрой ближневосточной едой.

lagonid6

К кофе по-восточному подают маленькие конфетки, в меню, помимо уже традиционного для Еревана затара, есть арабские лепёшки саж — с сыром и томатом, и по желанию гостя в начинку добавляют обжигающий изнутри перец.

lagonid8

Прямо таки просыпаешься от этих огненных лепёшек! Здесь очень вкусный мутабаль, а вот хумус чуть пресный, табуле близок к ливанскому варианту — очень кислый, фалафель хорош — в нём много зелени!

lagonid14

Lagonid, ул. Налбандяна, 37

*

adastra27

Конечно, Ереван не исчерпывается 12-ю гастро-точками на карте: выгуливайте вечерние платья в Tsirani на Северном проспекте или Ad Astra в отеле Radisson Blu Yerevan, заезжайте на кисломолочный суп с кефте и шашлыки в ресторан Ереван, загляните на кофе в одну из нескольких десятков кофеен сети Jezve, не проходите мимо местной кондитерской-магазина Grand Candy — за их шоколадным тортом я готова отправиться в Ереван пешком из Киева, но помните: настоящая армянская еда ещё не покинула пределов домашней кухни.

gal13

Спас, хаш, хоровац, лаваш с сыром и зеленью — всё это требует горного воздуха, маленького внутреннего дворика, большой семьи за столом, и в последнюю очередь — крахмальных салфеток или официантов, поэтому собираясь в Армению, обязательно напроситесь к кому-нибудь из армянских друзей в гости домой — не смущайтесь, здесь можно!

gal23

Текст: Ольга Кари

Фото: Антон Лазутин, Ольга Кари

Karifood благодарит за поддержку в организации путешествия авиакомпанию Air Arabia, компанию Ready&Go! и дизайн-студию LAZA

promo1

Авторизоваться через: