Hotels

Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort, Sharm-el-Sheikh

1002

Scattered Christmas lights coupled with a Santa Clause sledge perched on the marble cascade near the main entrance under the palm trees are probably the only things to remind you it’s winter here.

egypt_25

There’s the sea on the horizon, there are reefs in the sea, and fish swimming in the reefs. In Sharm-el-Sheikh swimming pools are warm, the temperature outside is +20 Celsius, while the snow, frost, slush and mud are far-far away, somewhere back in Kyiv.

egypt_98

Sinai is lively in its own way — without a flow of Russian tourists, with a safety gate at hotel entrances complete with a mandatory scan of all cars with metal detectors and luggage examination.

egypt_10

Tourists are scarce, and any suspicion that there might be a threat against their safety might totally cut short the thin flow of travelers accepted by the local airport.

egypt_82

Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort is a five-star hotel on the shore of the Red Sea, complete with several swimming pools, a tennis court, a music hall and spacious grounds; currently, it’s a nice budgetary alternative to expensive Ukrainian Carpathians — and it still preserves the joys of warm latitudes.
.

egypt_7

The rooms here are spacious and light although lacking any luxury of novelty, but they’re clean and tidy nevertheless. The cleaning staff is available almost round the clock, sometimes even on the verge of obtrusiveness — as soon as you show up in the corridor, a chamber boy (all operational hotel personnel is male) will be running after you to ask whether you need any cleaning in your room. Yes, he has just finished cleaning there and even made a swan figurine out of your beach towel, but what if there’s anything else he could do for you? You’ll experience this several times a day, so get used to it.

egypt_8

In general, the hotel personnel is friendly and communicable but still requires too much of your attention. Wave it away as a local characteristic feature and enjoy Egyptian origami made of towels in your room. By the way, the chamber boy who erected real towel sculptures for our friends in the room next door never made us anything, so I don’t really know whether to cry or feel happy about the virgin cleanness of our towels saved from this kind of art.

egypt_23

What’s truly good about Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort is its swimming pools. The largest one is a cluster of family entertainment with its own bar and burger grill outlet, separate mini pools for children, animators, blasting music, morning aerobics and all that merry hype that creates the effect of a happy beach vacation.

egypt_16

For those who love to get up in the morning and dive into the pool instead of having a shower, there are separate villas with suites that have their own swimming pools.

egypt_67

And there’s also a private swimming pool for VIPs with deck-chairs under purple canopies.

egypt_62

The best one among swimming pools is the relaxing pool with no music, animators, or children (at least nobody under the age of 16), but there’s heating, palm trees, blue sky over your head and nonstop delivery of drinks from the coffee bar right to the swimming pool nosing.

egypt_21

Alas, the situation with gastronomy at Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort is quite gloomy. The food outlet at the hotel is represented by a common restaurant with a buffet and several a la carte restaurants on the hotel grounds where it’s practically impossible to book a table despite a number of electronic booking machines in the hotel lobby and an online booking option at the hotel’s website.

egypt_38

How people get there is still a mystery to me because the doors leading to those gastronomic temples were opened for us only after the intrusion of the hotel’s marketing department. Still, no matter how hard I tried I couldn’t book a table on my own either using a booking machine in the lobby or the website.

egypt_41

The food in the common restaurant starts its life cycle at breakfast and ends it at dinner (I would very much like to believe that anything not eaten is thrown away in the end of the day). Visually, tables and buffets are loaded with snacks, but when you have a closer look at it, it is only the salad section with vegetables that looks trustworthy and edible enough.

egypt_42

There’s fish deep-fried for lunch and then deep-fried again for dinner until it turns into a rubber ball of dough, unpalatable fruits — either unripe or overripe, factory-made bakery products laid out on the trays day after day until the icing on them goes musty.
.

egypt_70

The only thing that will save you is waffles for breakfast — they’re made in the morning right before your eyes. These are served with a gigantic bowl of Nutella, and once a week they get an addition in the form of small bowls with perfect jams — of figs, dates, berries and honey. Also, evening grill is good when chefs serve Egyptian quails, mutton kebabs and seafood products freshly roasted.

egypt_78

The a la carte outlets provide better food (it goes true for Hindu and Thai restaurants), perhaps this is why it’s so hard to get into them — they have nice-looking crockery and the food laid out on them looks much tastier.

egypt_76

egypt_86

Well, you will certainly have no remorse for spending an extra hour in the swimming pool instead of breakfasts, lunches and dinners! The one thing made perfectly here is cezve coffee served on the terrace of Churchill bar.

egypt_29

egypt_15

The beach at Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort is clean, tidy and nice. There’s even some good ice cream in the beach café. Here you can also play a game of petanque (on certain days of the week) or table tennis (any hour of day or night).

egypt_48

shrm_skh_11

You can dive into the “open sea” from the pier and admire the reefs and their dwellers, or dive with an aqualung and a diving instructor to accompany you (for a fee), or do some snorkeling (free of charge if you have your own mask).

shrm_skh_13

A SPA complex, a gym with all the necessary sports equipment, a tennis court (also free in the evening) and a small football field, with the food that ranks merely passable, turn Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort into a health resort and detox hotel — if you avoid the all-inclusive free alcohol and Nutella, that is.

shrm_skh_4

egypt_59

I should say, once you check into the hotel, there’s no need to leave it until departure — the airport is close, and it’s another advantage of the hotel location.

shrm_skh_22

egypt_2

egypt_83

egypt_72

The reefs here are truly beautiful, there is a diving center operating at the hotel where you can rent a mask, an aqualung or hire an instructor; the two-floor villas with suites are drowned in flowers; if you want parties with music and dancing — go to the main restaurant; if you want quiet and the sea waves at your feet — go down to the beach; and the wonderful sea sight at sunrise is everyday for free.

shrm_skh_18

Just find some strength in you to wake up with the sun!

Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort in Sharm-el-Sheikh explored by Olga Kari and Anton Lazutin

egypt_47

Text: Olga Kari

Photos: Olga Kari, Anton Lazutin

Karifood would like to thank Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort hotel, Sharm-el-Sheikh, and Ready&Go! transfer partner for traveling arrangements.

Synay (1)

Login with:

Отели

Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort, Sharm-el-Sheikh

1002

Россыпи новогодних гирлянд и даже сани Санта Клауса, водружённые на мраморный каскад у главного входа под пальмами — это, пожалуй, единственное, что напоминает здесь о зиме.

egypt_25

На горизонте море, в море — рифы, в рифах — рыбки. В Шарм-ель-Шейхе трава зелёная, бассейны тёплые, на улице +20, а снег, морозы, слякоть и грязь — это всё там, где-то в далёком Киеве.

egypt_98

Синай живёт своей жизнью — без потока российских туристов, с safety gate на входах в отели, с обязательным сканом машин металлоискателем и досмотром вещей и багажа.

egypt_10

Туристов и так немного, любое подозрение на угрозу их безопасности может и вовсе осушить тот тоненький ручеёк, которые сейчас принимает местный аэропорт.

egypt_82

Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort — пятизвёздочный отель на берегу Красного моря, с несколькими бассейнами, теннисным кортом, футбольным полем, музыкальной ареной, просторной территорией — на сегодняшний день очень даже бюджетная альтернатива совсем небюджетным украинским Карпатам и при этом — со всеми радостями тёплых широт.

egypt_7

Комнаты просторные и светлые, хоть и без лоска новизны, но зато чисто и опрятно. Персонал по уборке доступен чуть ли не круглосуточно, иногда даже на грани навязчивости — стоит вам показаться в коридоре, как chamber-boy (весь операционный персонал отеля — мужчины) уже бежит за вами следом, чтобы поинтересоваться, не нужно ли в номере прибрать. Да, он только что закончил уборку в вашей комнате и даже скрутил лебедя из пляжного полотенца, но вдруг он ещё может быть вам чем-то полезен? И так по нескольку раз на день.

egypt_8

В общем-то, персонал отеля дружелюбный и общительный, но всё-таки требует как-то слишком много внимания. Спишите это на местный колорит и наслаждайтесь египетским искусством оригами из полотенец! Кстати, chamber-boy, который ваял нашим друзьям из соседнего номера полотеничные скульптуры, для нас так ни разу не скрутил ни одного лебедя, даже не знаю, то ли огорчиться, то ли порадоваться чистоте наших незадействованных в творчестве полотенец.

egypt_23

Чем хорош Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort, так это бассейнами. Самый большой из них представляет собой кластер семейных развлечений с собственным баром и грилем для бургеров, с отдельными мини-бассейнами для детей, с аниматорами, динамиками на полную мощность, аэробикой по утрам, в общем тем весёлым движем, который создаёт эффект весёлого пляжного отдыха.

egypt_16

Для тех, кто любит проснуться с утра и вместо душа быстренько окунуться в бассейн — целые виллы с номерами с собственным бассейном.

egypt_67

Для люксовой публики — private area бассейн с лежаками под пурпурными балдахинами.

egypt_62

И самый лучший из этих бассейнов — relaxing pool, где нет музыки, нет аниматоров, нет детей (только с 16-ти лет), зато есть подогрев, пальмы, синее небо над головой и бесперебойная доставка напитков из кофе-бара прямо к бортику бассейна.

egypt_21

Фуд-аутлет в отеле представлен общим рестораном с буфетом и шведским столом, а также несколькими ресторанами a la carte на территории отеля, забронировать места в которых на вечер — нереально, несмотря на то, что в лобби стоят электронные автоматы для брони и даже есть возможность сделать резерв он-лайн через сайт отеля.

egypt_38

Как туда вообще попадают гости, для меня осталось загадкой, потому что для нас двери этих гастро-храмов распахнулись только благодаря маркетинговому отделу отеля. Но так ни разу мне не удалось самостоятельно сделать бронь ни через автомат в лобби, ни через сайт.

egypt_41

В общем ресторане визуально столы и буфеты ломятся от обилия закусок, в реальности наибольший аппетит вызывает секция с листьями салата и целыми овощами.

egypt_42

Рыба, которую жарили во фритюре на обед, а затем ещё раз жарили на ужин до превращения резиновый комок из теста, фрукты как на подбор невкусные — неспелые и переспелые, выпечка, которую изо дня в день выкладывают на хлебный буфет до тех пор, пока глазурь не начнёт отдавать прелостью.

egypt_70

На завтрак готовят отличные вафли — их выпекают по утрам в вафельнице у вас на глазах. К ним подают огромную миску нутеллы и раз в неделю выносят мисочки с мёдом и отличным вареньем — из инжира, фиников, ягод. Хорош ещё и вечерний гриль, когда прямо с огня повара подают египетских перепёлок, бараньи кебабы и морепродукты.

egypt_78

В заведениях a la carte еда получше (это касается индийского и тайского ресторанов), видимо, поэтому попасть в них такая сверхзадача — здесь приятная глазу посуда, а содержимое тарелок выглядит куда аппетитнее.

egypt_76

egypt_86

Зато с чистой совестью завтраками, обедами и ужинами можно жертвовать ради лишнего часа в бассейне! К тому же, низкая стоимость путевки в пятизвездочный оазис под синим небом в тени пальм с лихвой компенсирует не очень обширные возможности фуд-аутлета. Кстати, вот что здесь готовят действительно хорошо — так это кофе в джезве, подают его на террасе бара Churchill.

egypt_29

egypt_15

Пляж в Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort — чист, ухожен, аккуратен. В пляжном кафе даже кормят мороженым. Здесь же можно поиграть в петанк (в определённые дни) и в настольный теннис (хоть днём, хоть ночью).

egypt_48

shrm_skh_11

С пирса можно нырнуть в «открытое море», полюбоваться рифами и его обитателями, погрузиться с инструктором и аквалангом (за отдельную плату) или заняться снорклингом (если со своей маской, то бесплатно).

shrm_skh_13

SPA, спортивный зал с гантелями и тренажёрами, теннисный корт (в вечернее время тоже бесплатный) и небольшое футбольное поле при «так себе» еде превращают Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort в отель здоровья и детокса, если, конечно, не налегать на оллинклюзивный бесплатный алкоголь и нутеллу.

shrm_skh_4

egypt_59

Собственно, заехав в отель, нет никакой надобности покидать его до самого отлёта — близость аэропорта ещё один плюс локации Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort.

shrm_skh_22

egypt_2

egypt_83

egypt_72

Риф здесь действительно красив, при отеле работает дайвинг-центр, где можно и взять напрокат маску, и урок дайвинга с инструктором, двухэтажные виллы с номерами утопают в цветах, вечера с музыкой и танцами — пожалуйста, к главному ресторану, тишину и море у ног — спускайтесь к пляжу, роскошный рассвет — хоть каждый день.

shrm_skh_18

Только найдите в себе силы проснуться вместе с солнцем!

Гостили в Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort в Шарм-ель-Шейхе Ольга Кари и Антон Лазутин

egypt_47

Текст: Ольга Кари

Фото: Ольга Кари, Антон Лазутин

Karifood благодарит за поддержку в организации путешествия отель Sunrise GS Arabian Beach Resort, Sharm-el-Sheikh и трансфер-партнера компанию Ready&Go!

Synay (1)

Авторизоваться через: